## Third Release by Instrumental Progressive Rock Band Isobar

January 20, 2023 – Isobar, based in in San Jose, California announces the release of its third album of instrumental progressive music. *Isobar iii* is the follow-up to the band's two critically-acclaimed CDs from 2020 and 2021. Music samples and purchase options for *Isobar iii* are at **Isobarprog.bandcamp.com** and **IsobarMusic.com**.



*Isobar iii* offers an hour of exceptional compositions, featuring the group's characteristic sense of adventure and quirkiness. The band plays with fun, unusual melodies, unpredictable harmonic changes, shifting time signatures, interesting arrangements, and tight, interwoven musical figures. Listeners who enjoy novel, innovative compositions with musical depth and satisfying complexity will find a lot to like on *Isobar iii*.

Isobar is bassist Jim Anderson, guitarist Malcolm Smith, and keyboardist Marc Spooner. Also appearing on *Isobar iii* are Mattias Olsson on drums and percussion (Änglagård, White Willow, Molesome, and others), Evan Weiss on trumpet, Ben Bohorquez on saxophone (The Funky Knuckles), and Joanne Wu on violin. *Isobar iii* was recorded at Dolores Gulch Studios and Einsteinium Studios. The album was mixed at Soundtek Studios by Grammy nominated recording artist, songwriter, producer, and musician Robert Berry, known for his collaborations with progressive rock artists including Keith Emerson and Carl Palmer.

"The band plays with idiosyncratic, unusual melodies and changing time signatures, which they know how to interweave closely, and in doing so they repeatedly surprise with unpredictable harmonic and atmospheric twists and turns... "Isobar iii" is for those who need more Prog in their Prog, those wonderfully intricate, odd-bar, dissonant passages that you might know from ELP, Egg, or UK." -- Baby-Blaue Prog Encyclopedia review of Isobar iii

"This is really tasty stuff! Great melodies throughout, lots of good playing, lots of intricate passages and arrangements - it's really, really good. I am digging this quite a bit!" -- Pete Pardo, Sea of Tranquility

Track listing for *Isobar iii*:

- 1. Are You Now Or Have You Ever Been?
- 2. Parts of Harvey
- 3. Face in the Blue
- 4. Shadow Green
- 5. The Trouble With Buttons
- 6. 4<sup>th</sup> Leg
- 7. Objet
- 8. The Mimus Polyglottos Alarm Clock
- 9. Full Nelson

For more information visit www.IsobarMusic.com. Contact the band at malcolmcs@yahoo.com.